2016 Ubud Writers & Readers Festival

Scheduled for October 26 to 30 this year, this literary festival has gained a great degree of world wide attention in the years since Janet DeNeff first conceived it several years ago. 

It has become a “must attend” event for many writers, especially those, be they expat or local, who aspire within the arts of literature.

http://us6.campaign-archive2.com/?u=1f2 … 33cec39b38

Excellent stuff - hope it goes well

What about the censorship on the 1965 Genicide of 1million Indonesians as it happened in 2015 when all debate or film, especially Joshuah Oppemheimer's ones were prohibited?
I hope there will be a massive protest against this violation of human rights, especially freedom of thinking and expressing one's idea through whatever media it is.

As a unpublished author I would love to attend but find the cost just to attend one seminar out of reach for me.

MF24, if you were part of last year's festival then you already know that the discussion you think was banned, was in fact carried out anyway, but without publicity or fanfare.

That event was affectionately called, "the seminar on that which we are not supposed to discuss." 

One step at a time! 

When I first moved to Indonesia, any and all writing in Chinese was banned from Indonesia.  It took a blind President (Gus Dur) to change that, and do he did...and he made Chinese New Year yet another national holiday too!

Jethro...you might take some initiative by sending Janet some examples of your writing and who knows...you just might find yourself a sponsor!   ;)

Thank  you Ubudian.
But I fear I shall not.

MF24 wrote:

What about the censorship on the
I hope there will be a massive protest

I've heard of people committing suicide on the internet, but never actually seen a possible one until I read that post.
If the subject is as sensitive as you say, what's stopping immigration landing on you to tell you how they're going to boot you out over that post?