THE BEST WEATHER and the fewest mosquitos

I don't know if my subject line is an oxymoron or not, but I'm wondering if there is a location in CR that has near perfect weather and few mosquitos.

Perfect Weather:  Comfortable to the point that you don't have to use heat or air conditioning.

I've been told that if you live at the beaches, you will live in A/C at all times or be miserable!

I'm just getting started investigating CR, so please be gentle regarding my wanting everything perfect; I'm just trying to zero in on the best places to settle.

Thanks in advance to all who help.

Doug

Hi Doug, welcome on Expat-blog! :)

I hope other members will give you info about the weather and advice you on best places to live in Costa Rica.

I wish you good luck,
Christine

Hi Doug -
I would start w/ the central valley (San Jose and surrounding area).  Temperature is a function of elevation - higher = cooler, and the central valley is +/- 3000 feet.
I live in San Pedro (east side of SJ), and it is usually in the 70's here.  We don't use air conditioning or heating; we have one small fan that we use sometimes.  We lived in Alajuela for a while, which is somewhat lower (less than 2000 ft) - it got into the upper 80's.
Other than elevation, you will want to see if the humidity is a problem for you - that doesn't vary a lot by elevation or location.  In the rainy season, it if often in the upper 70's; in the dry season, it is often in the 50's.
If you want beach w/o too much heat, you could try Uvita/Ojochal/Dominical on the Pacific side. It is still much hotter than the higher elevations, but has a nice breeze that cools things off.
I can recommend doing what we did - we lived in several places for several months each, then decided on a location.
take care,
Julie

Thanks Julie!  I have researched on the net and you speak the truth.  You didn't address the mosquitos, but I'm sensing that they are not a problem since no one has mentioned them yet.  Am I right?