From America Living in Rijeka want to meet other expats

Hello to all :) .  Im living in Rijeka, i like it alot.  we have just brought a flat and are getting it ready to receive guest. 

Very nice city.  Im from America, Greater Chicago Land Area, im living in Rijeka for 3yrs.

im still learning the language and people.

Im retired and would love to go for coffee or tea.

i wouldnt mind finding some type of work just to meet people.  im 39yrs old and African-American.

im very open to meeting other expats.   Ciao! :D

Welcome on board unclej :cheers:

Just wanted to say "hello and welcome"!  I grew up in Chicago and this will be my first year  (full-time) in Croatia.   I live near Pula and like you, am working on getting house livable (hopefully will have electricity soon).  Perhaps we can arrange to meet and share coffee at aconvenient time and place.   Croatian language is far different from English for me, but I'm learning it step by step.

Derek

cool maybe we will have a chance to meet.  i hear they have good concerts on Pula.  i havent been there yet.

There's a small jazz club (Fiorin) which features live music on Friday evenings at 9:30.   Pula does host concerts/music festivals during the summer.

that sounds good, im going to explore Pula when it gets a little nicer out.  the weather hasnt been so nice the last couple of weeks, tho the winter was very mild compared to the windy city...lol  i will add that place to my list (Fiorin).  i really want to see the arena.

Hi Unclej and Underovr... My husband and I are Croatia-bound in the summer by way of a couple months in Sarajevo (he's originally from there). Question: how did you handle health insurance if you don't mind me asking?

Cheers from California!

Health insurance is provisioned through Croatia HZZO  (http://www.hzzo.hr).  This is required for foreigners as well as citizens living in Croatia.