Working as a Waiter or possibly supervisor

Hello Everyone !!

I am Michael and I am new here.

I am looking for some information regarding working in catering.

I am going to move to Malta 21st of March and going to get apartment in Gozo.

I have 8 years experience in catering including management.

I was just wondering, as I can not find any information, what is the salary, wage, hourly pay for waiters ??

I am taking an apartment which will cost 530 euro a month including bills and it will be shared between 2 of us.

I just have no idea if waiting job will give me enough money to survive :P

I was trying to find any information about wages with no luck so hopefully someone here will have an idea and share it.

Thanks !!

between 3-5 an hour

I am assuming I cant rely on any tips etc ?

And thanks for straightforward answer :P

you may get tips ..but i don't know how they work in all places but the ones that i have had experience off they were pooled and you got them usually on a Sunday and they were shared by all staff including kitchen ones etc

Tips depend on the standard of the restaurant /place. In a standard bar/restaurant/kiosk you often pay at the counter and Maltese are not worldchampions in tipping.

Waiter supervisor ? In Malta in most places that would be the position of restaurant manager. Even in hotels and top restaurants. But that is a different job.

Cheers
Ricky

Yeah what I meant was restaurant assistant manager, head waiter etc as I am experienced in that field.

I am sure it works slightly different on Malta than in UK as a lot of retaurants are family run businesses on Malta.

I guess me and my girlfriend will have to look for slightly cheaper apartment in Gozo, I saw quite a few cheap and with fantastic views in Marsalforn and we will rent a small place of someone there for a week to go around apartments. Airbnb has cheap offers for a night stay so at least we can have somewhere to sleep and leave all our luggage.

Can't wait to be there !!