Too old?

Hello.
I am an English teacher currently working in France. I have a degree, (Art), and a TEFL certificate.
I have been teaching English for most of the past 10 years.
My contract is coming to the end and I am considering relocating to Vietnam to teach.
But...I am 51 years old.
Would this be an obstacle to getting a teaching post in Vietnam?

Hello Ramble,

You have the relevant qualifications to teach in Vietnam.  Ageism is less a problem here than in other parts of Asia.

Be patient as it sometimes can take awhile to  get the position you want - so be flexible and initially be prepared to work evenings & week-ends.

Use common sense and research the better quality Language Centres in the City.

Good Luck in your new ventures

JF.

PS  - I was 55 when I arrived in Hanoi to work.     :-)

Dear Ramble, you don't have to worry about your age. Last time I studied in Eng center, my dear teacher was 65 years old! I was suprise when she told me that.
You can even open a private class from your own. Don't worry, I sure you'll find a suit job soon. And welcome to Vietnam!

Hello JF and lilith.
Thank you for your encouraging replies.
I will now continue my online research of Language Centres in Hanoi with positive energy!
Thanks again.
Ramble.

Ramble235 wrote:

Hello.
I am an English teacher currently working in France. I have a degree, (Art), and a TEFL certificate.
I have been teaching English for most of the past 10 years.
My contract is coming to the end and I am considering relocating to Vietnam to teach.
But...I am 51 years old.
Would this be an obstacle to getting a teaching post in Vietnam?

Nope, definitely not.

I was so pleased to see all your positive replies. I am also 51 and hoping to move to Hanoi late summer and had same concerns :) good luck!