Bringing cooking tools and spices into Ecuador

Hello,

I have just accepted a contract to a open a new restaurant on the coast near Puerto Cayo and would like some information regarding how strict customs is when importing spices and personal cooking equipment. I'll be coming with all the basics including my knives, hand tools and 2 attachments for a kitchen aid mixer. Also ingredients like truffle oil, salts, citric acid, rennet and mixed spices. All the equipment is used and wont be in any boxes. Would any of this be a problem bringing in and would I likely be charged a duty?

The owner is currently looking for a Kitchen Aid mixer. He found this site http://www.olx.com.ec/nf/search/kitchen-aid  My Spanish isn't so good and I can't tell if this site is like an Ebay or Craigslist or if it's even reliable. Could anyone tell me the cheapest place to find a brand new kitchen aid in Guayaquil or Manta? Is this site is reliable? Any help is much appreciated. This is my first time to South America, I'm very excited to spend some time in Ecuador and bring my style of cooking to the coast.

Dear Rasta John,

Welcome to the Ecuador forum.

I've never heard before of an Ecuadorian sponsor or employer giving a contract to a non-Spanish-speaking Gringo to move to Ecuador and open a restaurant.

If you have an Ecuadorian sponsor, they should be assisting you in the matters of residency visa and customs. 

In order to live ongoingly in Ecuador, you may have to get your contract approved by the Cancillería (cancilleria.gob.ec) in the context of a permanent-visa application.

If you're not getting full support from an Ecuadorian sponsor or employer, I advise that you contact an Ecuador-based immigration attorney to help you verify that your contractual offer is valid and workable.  A good attorney based in Quito -- although most of his clientele is on the coast -- is Sebastian Cordero, email: scordero(at)gcabogados.com .....

cccmedia in Quito