Expats in Fanno area of Marche

Hi,

I am moving to Italy in August and would like to hear from anyone in the Fanno area. My goal is to stay in Italy at least a year or longer.

I have relatives in Rome but would like to try the Adriatic coast.

I am a retired college professor and a Painter from New York state.

Speak a little Italian and would be interested in lanugage classes also any tips on  getting a car.

Presently I live in baja La Paz so I am used to living overseas,

Arnold

Arnold,

I am very familiar with Fano and recommend it highly. While i do not live there year round I visit it yearly. I have family in this city/region. For a rather small city by American standards it offers a lot. There is a vibrant arts community. I speak the most rudimentary Italian so I limit myself to music/art but there is an abundance. While it does have the beach it is certainly not the primary draw for me. My husband speaks no Italian and loves the area as well.
If you like hiking, trekking as it is called there are a couple of groups that organize moderate walks in the area. this has been a great way for us to make new friends.
Aside from the usual superlatives on food we find that there is a growing organic/local food consciousness. in fact there are a few Biologic restaurants in Fano.
Rental housing is moderately priced and varied as to amenities. You can get by without a car. there is a local bike and soon i imagine uber sharing option for you.
Best of all the people are friendly, honest with middle class values. You will find people a bit reserved but only express you keen interest in Fano/Le Marche and you will find them remarkably helpful.
Good luck with you exploration.

We will be there starting September for at least a month.

Carol Montesi

Dear Carol,