Relocating to Oman, pls advise

I have been working in Saudi Arabia for almost 2 yrs, and now my company is relocating me to Oman. The salary issue is yet to be negotiated. Since I am getting SAR 5.5K here, what should I be asking from my Co. if I am expecting some increase in my current income? Pls also advise about the housing expense (single room for bachelor), food, travel expense (monthly rent-a-car), etc..

Welcome to the forum immi4u :)

I hope members from Oman will share their experiences and advise you accordingly by contributing to your discussion!

Best Regards!

what kind of company?

Thanks Yud, I hope I will have a good time here..
Its a cable company and I am in technical sales n marketing..

i think here the reply will be either you will be increase in the housing allowance or they will provide accomidation for you...i dont think u will have increase in your salary becasue you are working in saudi and then move to oman...

you can find one room here (nice one) with 100 Omani riyals (equal to 1000 saudi riyals)...

for car rent it is 8 omani riyals per day (80 saudi riyals) but i think your comopany will give you the car...

for food you will pay , let say 1.5 omani riyals(15 saudi riyals) for one meal...

you might find less than those prices but base your expectation on worst things..
so i think it is a good idea to discuss with your company to increase the allowance of housing becasue it was cheaper i guess in saudi...
whish you the best

well, I am expecting something around OR 700-800, this will include everything from housing allowance to car rent (except the petrol allowance which will be given on actual invoices). BTW, which car will I get for OR 80 per month for rent? And yes, I will be moving to Muscat, so I think whatever expenses u told must comply with.

and one more thing, how much time/money is required to get Omani driving license?? (And is Saudi license valid in Oman??)