Bus from bogota to bucaramanga

Hi everyone!

I'm moving over to bucaramanga next year, booking flights now, after sorting dates with my hosts. The problem is, flying to the airport in bucaramanga is more expensive than bogota , and the flight to bucaramanga transfers at bogota anyway!! I was thinking to save money and take a bus from bogota to bucaramanga when I arrive. Only problem is this is my first time in Colombia, I don't really speak Spanish, and I will have 3-4 bags with me. Would you recommend I do this, or should I suck it up and just pay for the extra flight? I really would rather take the bus if possible :)

Have you looked into taking a national flight from Bogotá to Bucaramanga?  They are usually pretty cheap.  Right now I see one  Bogotá a Bucaramanga $160.000 which at today's exchange rate is less than $50 USD.  You can probably find even cheaper, depending on when you book it.  If it were me I'd go for that, rather than the bus, which can take 8 hours or more. The prices I just looked at for the bus were $60.000 COP or not quite $20 USD.

You can look for 'vuelo nacional bogota bucaramanga" for planes,
'bus bogota a bucaramanga' for the bus.

Plane:  https://viajala.com.co/aerolineas/vuelos-con-avianca-AV

Bus:  http://www.berlinasdelfonce.com/index.p … ucaramanga

I am a man, physically larger than most Colombian men, and I speak fluent Spanish.  So I would not mind taking the bus although I would travel with just one bag.  I understand that you probably can't do that (although you can buy clothes in Colombia, why carry stuff you don't need to?).  But given that you are a young woman and would have 3-4 bags and plus no Spanish fluency, to be on the safe side I'd have to say DON'T TAKE THE BUS.