Best ways to learn Chinese?

Does anyone have any suggestions of the best ways to learn Chinese?

I believe the best way to learn any language is to immerse oneself totally into the language environment. Quite some expats I got to know in China stick to their own circles and to their own languages too. By doing so they miss a good chance of learning the language :-(

Fine.
How do you manage to get immersed?
What concrette steps, places, circles for example? Especially when you're a total beginner.

Thanks for any recommendation you can provide me with.

Hi, I didn't mean to make it sound that harsh. I am sorry :-(

I find it quite helpful to begin with your colleagues. Chinese peolpe are quite cautious at the first sight, but actually quite friendly at heart :-) Through your colleagues you might have a good chance to meet some other people, their friends/acquaintances for example.

As far as the language is concerned, I would recommend a personal tutor. You could do it in exchange of some English/French lessons. Lots of people want to learn foreign languages in a right way, university students for example.

Again I'm sorry for making it sound that harsh. Hope I could help somehow through your days in Shanghai. Enjoy.

If you want to speak Chinese, I recommend doing it online. Private tutors seemed nice at first, but my motivation to continually meet and study on their schedule waned after a couple of weeks. I tried online courses from Surf Chinese and study on my own schedule from home now. Learning online has allowed me to continue studying with less of the stress and strain of commuting to meet up. I suggest you try a few different ways and then choose the best way that suits you. Good luck to you and your family!

Thanks a lot for this meaningful recommendation. Best.

yep..i need some suggestions too..:)