Teaching English in Kuala Lumpur

Hello my name is Cameron.
I am originally from New zealand but for the past 5 years have been teaching English in South Korea and Loas. I am currently volunteering in a refugee camp in Thailand but am looking for work in Kuala Lumpur, starting in mid-October.
I was hoping to meet up with some other teachers already in Malaysia and would love to hear about the job market and any advice would be awesome.
Best whishes
Cameron Lucas

Hi Cameron,
I've been teaching and travelling too, for the last 12 years. My (Turkish) husband and I came to KL two years ago. Teaching English in Malaysia is much different than teaching in other Asian countries. English is widely spoken here, so there are not nearly as many language schools. Also a lot of the students here are foreign students (lots and lots from the Middle East) who come here to study English before joining universities here (because it's a Muslim country which is cheaper than theirs and also offers more social freedoms than their own countries). So the student make-up is quite unique.

If you have an education degree you can apply teach at an International school, but for those with a non-education degree, I think the three biggest English language schools are:

1. International House at Limkokwing University - poor working conditions, very badly run, don't do it.
2. ELS - locally run, decent
3. The British Council - the best place by far - excellent working conditions and professional development but you need CELTA plus 2 years experience in order to apply.

Hope that helps!

www.engberts-kaya.com

but.. but.. why would anyone want to teach english here :(
i taught in japan for 2 years.. trying to live in malaysia for a bit, and most of the schools i found pays really badly (compared to japan, well, obviously), still.. mmm..
instead of english, just be a teacher in the international schools, i think that is a better way to go.

btw, im from aotearoa too ;)

Hi jonnyha