I am moving to Libya

Hi

I am a civil engineer moving to Libya for a project basis , Could any one provide some info ?
1)  it a safe country ?
2) Whats cost of living for a 3 member family in USD ?
3) Indian community ?
4) Food culture , vegetarian available ?

Regards

Welcome to Expat.com Rajumoving :)

While awaiting responses from other members you can also have a look to the several discussion threads in the Libya forum. Some information might be useful to you.

Regards
Yud

Rajumoving wrote:

Hi

Namaste

1)  it a safe country ? Yes, unless you venture into dark alley/late night. Rest precautionary measures- You will come to know when you land.

2) Whats cost of living for a 3 member family in USD ? I think its  debatable. Everyone's lifestyle  and priorities are different. If saving is your priority, then dont worry.. You can save coz nothing much to spend on.

3) Indian community ? There is. You can socialize depending on where you get put up.

4) Food culture , vegetarian available ? Outside- Vegetarian choices are limited [sandwich/pizza etc]. Mainly non- vegetarian diet.

The turkish 'restaurants' do salads, some bread shops do falafel, plenty of fruit & veg stalls for you to D.I.Y.
I've not starved in the last 2 years. :)

Yup,I can see that ;)

Rajumoving wrote:

Hi

I am a civil engineer moving to Libya for a project basis , Could any one provide some info ?
1)  it a safe country ?
2) Whats cost of living for a 3 member family in USD ?
3) Indian community ?
4) Food culture , vegetarian available ?

Regards

Hi Raju,

Cost of living can vary from person to person ... (1US$ = 1.3LD)
Food - you could spend anything between 500 to 1000 dinars a month on food. Vegetarian, home cooked meals should cost about 500 a month. Vegetables are easily available and not expensive... rice and 'daals' are available too.