Discrimination in Abu Dhabi?

Hello all,

I'm an American moving to Abu Dhabi in a couple of weeks.  I'm a professional and will be working a white-collar job.  While I was born in the US and only speak English, my parents are both from the Philippines.  I've read a lot about some discrimination and racism towards certain races in the UAE.  Mostly "brown" people such as Filipinos, Pakistanis, and Indians. 

Stories I've read and heard is that "brown" people typically get assumed for service workers (maids, waiters, etc.), get lower salary, required to move at the end of waiting lines, and even denied entry into some clubs/restaurants.

Should I expect this sort of treatment because of my skin color?

Thank you in advance.

If your passport says you are American then you should be getting a better pay rate but I do believe that if it says Filipino then you will be paid less.

My husband is also Filipino and he does he has been mistaken for shop workers, valet driver etc. he gets annoyed but we laugh about it. We haven't been denied anywhere, I think it's how you present yourself. If you dress for the right places then you should be fine.

I agree with Tranppp, your nationality plays a major role. I mean in terms of your job and your pay.

Thank you both for your response.

I have an American passport and it lists my nationality as "United State of America" so I hope I will be okay in terms of salary equity.

Thanks again!

We are already preparing a welcome party here in Abu Dhabi yaay!  :cheers::up:

A lot of instances relate to people presenting themselves at the right place with the right manners and the dress sense and etiquette. Paywise , yes there is a surprising gap for the western nationalities which is absurd but everyone is just living with it. Yes you need to respect your roots, but whenever wherever, you get asked where are you from, answer back you are from the states and paywise, it wont be any issue.