Visit with view toward relocation

Sometime next month my wife and I would like to visit Ecuador and hopefully talk with some Amerticans already living there. My name is Ron, I'm a clinical psychologist in private practice, and I'm 66 years old. My wife Jean, who is 58, is the office manager in our practice. We will be looking toward retirement within the next few years. When we visit, we probably will spend only about 10 days. We would like to hear from you about where we could stay, a hotel or a bed and breakfast with reasonable rates. We appreciate all responses.

Hi Ron,

You should most certainly check out Cuenca. There is a wonderful retired expat community here, but Cuenca is small enough that you can still get out on your own and meet Ecuadorians. Plus it is a safe city that has lots to offer, including a springtime climate year round.

I am 27, am originally from the Seattle area, and live here with my husband (who is Cuencano) and our 2 month old daughter. My husband is a facilitator here in Cuenca and he helps a lot of prospective retirees figure out the system here in Cuenca (including helping them find a place to stay, city tours, and apartment searches during their scouting visits). I'm sure he would be happy to talk to you about setting up arrangements here in Cuenca if you'd like. His name is Arturo and his email address is [email protected], or you can visit his facilitator website facilitatorscuencaecuador.blogspot.com. He speaks both Spanish and English (we lived in the states for a number of years before moving back to Ecuador).

I also would be happy to answer any questions you may have about being an expat living in Ecuador.

Good luck with the visit planning and I hope we can meet up if you decide to visit Cuenca.

Un abrazo
Becca