Moving To Addis

Hello all,
I'm a recent university graduate and am moving to Addis in September. I would love to get in touch with people currently living in Addis so I have some contacts when I get there. Please contact me at [email protected] !
-Ashley

Hi, I am a single male living in New York. I am planning on moving moving to Addis Ababa, particularly within the city area, and not the province. I would be appreciative if someone could assist me through the immigration process, and with the prospects of finding employment and a budget apartment. I am proficient in Computer Science and Business Development. I am looking to move before the end of November 2008. Thanks in advance, and God bless you! You can email me on [email protected]

AsherOne,

VISA requirements are quite straightforward in principle but in practice can be extremely challenging. If you are US citizen it may be simpler as the Ethiopian government has a special arrangement with the US.

Start off by going to the website of your local Ethiopian Embassy and all of the visa requirements will be detailed there. The application form is normally a 2 minute process.

You can obtain tourist visas on arrival and this is very easy.

Coming to work in Ethiopia is another matter entirely.

For business visas, you will need a supporting letter at a minimum of a business/organisation in Ethiopia who is willing to take the financial risk.

Although your skills in Computer Science are in high-demand, there is not a very big IT industry to go into here. Your best bet could be to start a business of your own.

Procedures are highly beurocratic here and starting a business can take anywhere from 1-3 months due to all of the different paperwork and agencies involved.