Hello from canada

Hi--I have been reading a lot lately about living elsewhere. I guess it seems most people retire to these beautiful destinations, far flung from the worlds they know and live in. I am not at that point, rather I would love to live and contribute, work in a area of the world tat would afford this. I am not sure yet if Ecuador is the place but I keep looking and searching. I am not a retiree, I am a 53 year old cook, one time chef, now working for the coast guard. So I am just looking at places that would offer a new direction in life.

Hi Freddy,

I am Canadian in Ottawa presently, but soon to move to Ecuador - Loja province in the southernmost part, bordering Peru.  From experience I would offer:  you may not be psychologically ready yet.  You will absolutely know when you are ready.  Whatever ties hold you back in Canada, you make your peace with what separation you can manage.   On the purely physical side, you , being a Newfie, may want to go visit various countries to get an idea of what is out there and what you do and do not like about parts of those countries.  Every country is different.  I made my choice based on many factors.  Climate was quite important.
I have never actually been to Ecuador, but been to other Latin American countries and have friends from many L.A. countries here in Ottawa.  I am certain that this move is right for me.  What is right for you is very individual choice. ! Buena suerte!

HelenPivoine

“So I am just looking at places that would offer a new direction in life.”

Ecuador won't provide that unless you know what you are doing. You were "once a chef", submit your resume to hotels and restaurants to get a feel of availability. Realistically, maybe you don't have a chance in Ecuador. So be proactive in whatever you want to do.

travelxc wrote:

“So I am just looking at places that would offer a new direction in life.”

Ecuador won't provide that unless you know what you are doing.