180 day visit

As a U.S. citizen, how do I visit for a 180 day period?

What is the longest I can stay with just a passport?

You  get your 180 day visa at the point of entry.
You will need to renew it every 180 days.  You leave the country for 3 days and then reenter.  I have been doing this since 2006 but the need to leave for 3 days is recent rule.  For the first 7 years I just renewed it at the border where I entered..  Things are a little different now.  I have never had any other kind of visa.  I get my 180 day visa by presenting my passport. 
I pay about $25 US  to renew.  I have never had any questions or problems.
Hope this helps.  Works for me.

I would not plan on staying more than 72 hours without a 180 day visa.

Last weekend at the Talisman border crossing with Guatemala: Went to get my exit stamp on the Mexican side,produced my passport but forgot to bring my tax recipt for the previous six months.was told i could not leave Mx without It.I then informed the lady I only wanted to leave and come straight back for visa purposes.No problem,she stamped my passport for another six months there and then.Payed my tax and went home.So,its worth asking if there is any way they can give you another six months without having to leave the country.They obviously can.Depends on the agent I guess.Six months ago I left Mx for One hour.Exit at Talisman get a taxi to tacum uman re enter at Hidalgo

The first four years I was in Playas, and got a new 180 visa, my passport was never stamped. I just paid the fee and got a receipt.  I think they started stamping my passport in 2010.

I don't know of anyone having a problem, but...
There is no requirement that they issue it forb180 days.  If they do not, politely ask they change it to 180.  If they won't.  You're stuck with coming back at the expiration of wharever period they gave.

Thanks.