Aussie looking at moving to Spain.

Hi people,

I'm a dual British/Australian citizen. My wife and I want to live in Spain.

I've been searching jobs in Gibraltar and Madrid, Barcelona etc. I don't understand the wages at all and need some idea of the cost of living.

I'm a SQLServer database administrator in Australia. My wage here is:

$AUD 120,000 per year.
In Spain is looks like they pay 30.000 to 38.000 EU. Is that good?

Cost of living in Australia is:
43 cents of every dollar goes to the Government as income tax so they can squander it on helping private companies rip us off :|
Rentals here are about $AUD 1500.00 per month.
A decent T-shirt is about $AUD 60.00
A Citroen C4 costs $AUD 30,000
Paperback book is $AUD 40.00 to $AUD 50.00
Groceries per fortnight for two people about $AUD 250.00
A dump of a house that you wouldn't breed rats in costs about $AUD 600 - 800,000 (pure stupidity and greed on the part of the masses made this happen!)

So I can't understand the EU wage at all :(

If anyone can help clear up this disparity in wage figures it would be greatly appreciated.

Then I can move onto working out where to live :)

Welcome to Expat-blog, DuaneOz :)

Hi Mate ,

How much is your work experience? The amount you have said, i mean 36,000 to 38,000 yearly salary in euro here in spain is very hard to get these days in this hard economic condition. Spain has been hit very hard and its having the highest number of unemployed after greece. So if you ask my honest suggestion , don't shift to spain at this moment. Better move to Germany or France or some other country.

Cheers ,

Sougata

Hi Sougata,

I've been a DBA for five years and a programmer for 14 years.

I wondered about the economic conditions and work.

The wages seem so different. Our wages in Australia are higher, but our expenses are out of this world.

I bought a book on Perl Win32 programming on Amazon US for $US 9.00. In Australia they were selling it for $AU 110.00 :/