Your experience of culture shock in Mexico

Hi,

Living in a foreign country implies to discover its culture, to learn and master the cultural codes.

How did you deal with that? Share with us your culture shock stories where you experienced a funny or awkward moment in Mexico.

What is your advice regarding the don'ts and what would you recommend to avoid any mistake?

Thank you in advance for sharing your stories,

Christine

I've lived here for over two years now, and I'm still learning. I will likely always be learning. I was not new to Latin culture, because I have visited and spent time in places like Peru. Yet living in a place full time is a different thing.

I guess the biggest change is the hugs and kisses exchanged when meeting people. It's still not completely clear when that is done and how much or how little is it done My culture does not hug and kiss people except family and very close friends.
I think I have the rhythm of it now. The key is to be observant in all things. One of the mistakes I probably made was giving a male neighbor a belt that did not fit me or my family member, then living with me. It was an excellent native American leather belt that was extremely big. So I gave it to a neighbor who had the skill to alter it. Since then he is very polite, but makes a point to stand back and shaking my hand, His wife made it a point to meet me, and is seen more often in his company. Clearly I overstepped some unknown boundary, We are still friends and she is very nice to me but...