Dana NR

Nature Reserve...
Hi,
Any experience within the Dana Nature Reserve? Any nature lovers on this blog who visited the reserve, maybe some camping and birdwatching?
Thanks
PS: wrote to the rscn, but they seem to take their time answering...

Hi,

Yeah, I've visited Dana a couple of time. Stayed at RSCN's Rumman camp and did the camping, bird watching, hiking and even star gazing. It was fun indeed. The camp was great with a huge, central tent. You have a few other options for accommodation like Al Nawatef Camp or Wadi Dana Eco-camp.

Thanks. Can you tell me more about birdwatching,   what kinds did u get to see, is there water were birds frequently hang around? Did u need a guide? 
Thanks

You're welcome! Hmm I'm no expert I'm birds but my friends and I went to a bird watching hut there and spent a while watching birds we've never seen before. It was great! No water at all in the camp but if you go to Dana village, there's a natural spring. We did a couple of short (unguided) hikes but you need a guide for long ones.

I think you might have a better chance contacting Wild Jordan on their Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/wildjordan1

Thanks for the info, much appreciated. I finally managed to get hold of a guide. Hopefully I'll try my chances in October, the area looks quite inviting! I asked about water since usually birds gather there the most. If we are lucky, we'll get to see some mammals as well, I was told.

We love DANA :) and will never get enough just to visit once.

Unfortunately i'm not able to upload some of our Pictures here :) to see the Beauty of Dana and some other places.