Problems with accuracy in Filipino schools

Hello. A friend of mine here in Ormoc got into trouble with the local Catholic School district. The problem was that he, being a PhD in psychiatry, would examine his two children's school work every day. We would find numerous mistakes in textbooks, school lessons and teacher lessons and bring them up to the teachers. For some reason, and I do not really know why, many of the teachers and school administrators would resent his "interference". The situation got so bad that his children were refused admission in all Catholic schools here in Ormoc for the 2014/15 school year.

Now the problem is, my son just started going to a private school here and I have begun to notice errors in lessons just like my friend did! I am no PhD, but I am a retired public school teacher in the US and I believe I know a mistake in K 1 school work!!

Can any one give me some hints on how to approach school officials here regarding correcting mistakes in school/teacher work?  I have noticed that many people here really resent being corrected. I definitely do not want to go through what my friend and his family went through!!

Accept the standards on offer and do some extra coaching at home to fix the gaps. I don't think anything is going to be gained by complaining. It sounds like a universal problem.

Remember the saying "The one that points out the problem, becomes the problem".

Its saddening but humiliating the teaching staff is not going to achieve anything. Positive offers of help might be useful. But if the relationship breaks down, even those are going to be spurned.

Education is not a linear process so there will be opportunities later on to fix any problems. It is a problem in other countries as well.

dondee31 wrote:

For some reason, and I do not really know why, many of the teachers and school administrators would resent his "interference".