Music in South Africa

Hi,

Music is said to be a universal language. Indeed it helps to discover and better understand the culture of a country.

What are the most popular music genres in South Africa? How about traditional music and instruments?

Who are the local artists you would recommend?

Where can you listen to them: are there any concerts or music festival held regularly?

Thank you in advance for participating,

Kenjee

Good day

I am a Freelance Recording Engineer, working in various Recording Studios in South Africa.

South Africa, being a country with a lot of different cultures, one can expect different genre's of music.

Below are a few Genre's in South Africa:
1. Maskandi (Traditional Zulu Music)
2. Rap / Hip Hop
3. House / Dance
4. Pop
5. "Boere" Music (Traditional Afrikaans Music)

As far as instruments are concerned, the Zulu's will usually make their own drums: Zulu Drums. Although Zulu's will make their own drums, they still will use instruments like an acoustic guitar. A lot of Maskandi Music is Recorded in Downtown Studio's, Studio 2 on a vintage Harrison 32C Console. One artist incorporated electric keyboard/synthesiser into the Maskandi Genre'. Unfortunately I'm not too sure how many artists are still out there doing Maskandi.

Here is a link to Maskandi Music: Maskandi Link

Afrikaans Boere Music is usually played by South African farmers. Banjo and Accordion are very popular instruments. Usually Boere Music does not contain any Vocals. Electric Guitar, Bass Guitar and Drums are also incorporated/used.

Boere Music is for me, personally on of the most difficult genre's to play, because of its odd time signatures.

A sub-genre' that recently started is plain Afrikaans Music, whereby artists will sing to electronic backtracks.

This started killing the music industry for artist which relied on bands/members to play instruments during a Live performance.