Driving in Ghana

Hi,

What do you think of the way people drive in Ghana? How different is it from your home country?

Respecting the road safety rules, driving etiquette such as general courtesy, speed excess… what are the characteristics of the driving style in Ghana?

Share with us the difficulties one may face when driving in Ghana: peak hours, road conditions, accident, etc. and your advice to drive safely in the country.

Thank you in advance for participating,

Maximilien

I have been driving here for 5 years now. At first everything seemed chaotic and of course it was strange driving on the right. However once you get to know the roads it is not difficult driving here. You have to be very vigilant though and always expect the driver in front to do something unexpected. Once you do know the roads you can try and aviod the places where there are holdups during rush hour, but sometimes it is impossible not to get stuck in jams.
Remember to always have the items required by law, fire extinguisher, warning triangle and first aid kit as the police often stop and check and will still often demand a 'dash' even if you do have them. Never pay exhorbitant amounts to the police. Be polite and respectful but if they ask for more than 20 cedis ask to go to the police station. Filming the incident can also help.

Driving in Ghana I have found, is one of the most stressful things you can do in life. It's just horrendous to me. I've been driving for 15 years 1.5 of those  are in Ghana and I have never seen such incompetence behind wheels.  In the UK as you can imagine people actually have to pass tests; here, if you have a car and can turn the engine on your good to go… or just pay for your license.