Maths and physics teaching

Hello.

I am a 45 year old New Zealand trained, registered, and experienced (10 years) high school (12 - 18 year olds) maths and physics teacher. My degree is in mechanical engineering. Being from New Zealand I am a native English speaker.

I am considering moving to Vietnam for a year or two or more and am wanting to know how hard / easy it is to find work as a maths and / or physics teacher. OK, I would be happy 'just' teaching English too. My qualifications are as a maths / physics, not ESOL teacher.

I want to be by the coast and am looking at Hai Phong, Da Nang, or a smaller city / town.

If I turn up in Vietnam, wander down the coast, look for a nice cruisy place with a school and go 'hi, I'm a maths teacher', how hard to find work?

I'm not looking at saving any wads of cash.

Yes, I probably could apply to an international school before I leave, but prefer to be in a smaller centre, and freer to move around maybe every three to six months.

Any advice / feedback gratefully accepted.

Thanks

Bruce Menzies

International schools are where you want to be looking. Currently most have already done the hiring for the upcoming school year. But there is always the chance a teacher has left unexpectedly. Teaching maths and sciences as a native English speaker is only viable in an international school setting. You definitely have a better chance to become an English teacher even if you aren't TESOL certified. I also think it's best if you start in a major city (Saigon or Hanoi) and get some experience before going to a smaller town. 

With that said I managed to get a maths teaching position with Singapore International a few months back. I worked as an English teacher up till now and was a really good gig. Even if you don't want to save a lot of dinero, the cost of everything here kind of makes you save.

Good luck on your ventures. There is opportunity here, its just not out in the open.

Thank you.