Photographing Incan and Aztec Performers ...

Hi ... I'm an amateur photographer who will be spending this coming Winter (2015-2016) in Cuenca or region.  I am looking forward to  taking lots of photos of the land and the people.  I am curious to know if there is a site or other source I might visit to help clarify what the "rules" are regarding taking pictures of native (and other) performers.  I find the costumes and outfits they wear very colorful and vibrant and they would make wonderful photographic subjects, but don't want to offend or create any problems by photographing them "unauthorized".  Does anyone have any information that might be of some help to me?

Many thanks/Muchas gracias,

Señor Ramon

I am asking the Home Office to transfer this thread to the Cuenca forum since it involves Cuenca-area photography, and could attract the attention of the foremost Cuenca photographer for the Ecuador Forum, VIP member Nards Barley.

cccmedia in Quito

Thanks so much, cccmedia.  Much appreciated!

My experience is that at a public performance of cultural dances you just point your camera at the dancers and take the photos.  If you can get an email address and send them copies, that is much appreciated. 

Many people here use cell phones to snap photos...

Thanks, Quito.  Sounds pretty simple and I'd have no problem providing the performers with digital copies via e-mail or text.  I thought there might be some expectations that people wouldn't photograph the performers, at least without their permission.

Taking photos of the indigenous people can be a bit trickier...best use a telephoto lens for that and raw processing...

Thanks again, quito ... I have a good telephoto lens but have always preferred shooting people and events close up, unless it was necessary to shoot from a distance.  I'm certain it will come in handy when I want to get photos of the landscape and the mountains.

Bests,

Señor R :)