amharic language courses :-)

Hello there,

I'm thinking about moving to Addis Ababa next year. Do you know about any language courses? I heard of one at the university but nobody seems to know who is in charge of them.

Do you know of any places, teachers etc?

Thank you for any hints,

I am a graduate of Addis Ababa University, in teaching Geography. I have sufficient experience in teaching. if you want I can teach you privately as soon as you arive Addis.
in the university it is in Advanced standard (at least in a BA level). otherwise you can join extension elementary schools.

Ameharic is my first language and I have scored an A at Ethiopian School Leaving Examination(ESLCE)

prices for private lessons in Amharic go from 80 to 150 birr per hour at the moment,
I pay 80 for my teacher, who does this as a afternoon job, otherwise he teaches maths in a secondary schoo, but I also discussed prices with a linguistics teacher at AAU, he charges 120 birr per lesson (but wanted to increase it to 150 after the devaluation) and at AAU the courses are priced in dollars and quite steep, you have modules, mostly in the mornings, no flexible hours, but probably a good course,
it wasnt suitable for me as I teach at AAU and have classes in the mornings. you can find recommendatins for teachers on the website for the International community school in Addis (if you google it, they have a welcome to addis guide in their downloads section

Thanks a lot!!!

The thing is, I could do private teaching but I need a paper at the end (like a certificate) for my university to approve it (and count as a part of my programme here in Warsaw).

As for now I need to try AAU and Alliance éthio-française - apparently they run courses as well. I will also try the International Community School.
Thank you so much for all your help! Should anything more come to your mind, don't hestitate :)