Before you go for vacation please hand over your iqama to HR Departmen

Hi there.
I'm new to Saudi Arabia and working as a training consultant. We are excited about seeing our families during Ramadam, however we received the following e-mail from our HR department and are wondering if its a normal request?

"Before you go for vacation please hand over your iqama to HR Department. People who fail to hand over their iqama to HR Department will not receive their June 2015 salary until they come back from vacation."

Any thoughts?

Normally, according to your situation you should be granted an exit visa so you can fly out KSA. Nevertheless, as there as some quotas for foreigners, I think they might be manipulating the iqamas. You best check it attentively

its normal ,most of the company take back the iqama when they give u passport

Hi!

Yes my friend this is the regulation in Saudi Arabia, you have to hand over your iqama to receive your passport.

Have a nice vacation :)

Best Regards,

Ahmed

Yes, it's normal but do take care that if you are going to anywhere in GCC countries, tell them so and keep it along.

No GCC country (at present) grants on-arrival visas if you fail to show your original iqama on border.

25january wrote:

Yes my friend this is the regulation in Saudi Arabia, you have to hand over your iqama to receive your passport.
Ahmed

It's not a regulation; but a common practice which is being marked illegal these days.

Have a look:
http://www.arabnews.com/news/714311 -- Expats have right to keep their passports
and
http://www.arabnews.com/news/715276 -- Cautious welcome to new guidelines on expat passports

bunch of pathetic HR polices...disgraced by this inhumane treatment!

TheLegendLeads wrote:
25january wrote:

Ahmed

It's not a regulation; but a common practice which is being marked illegal these days.

Have a look:
http://www.arabnews.com/news/714311 -- Expats have right to keep their passports
and