Might be moving to HCMC soon and need some help!

Hi everyone!!

My name's Lauran and I'm looking to move to HCMC soon. My boyfriend MAY be getting a job over there (fingers crossed!) but it would mean moving in as soon as 4 weeks from accepting the position.
I have a 2:1 Degree in English Lit and History but like everyone else with an Humanities degree I work FT in retail :).
I would obviously get my TEFL and follow a dream to teach but I was just wondering if you can complete your TEFL out there? I know you can do online courses but does anyone have any info about any centres I could attend etc?

Also any tips about flat hunting and where to get the best pho would be super appreciated :)

Thanks so much!
Lauran

Hi.

I will answer your question about TEFL next week if you still need the information.

Pls check this for your apartment

Address of good Pho: https://goo.gl/maps/rOGwu:shy Welcome to HCM.

Regards,

Thank you so much!! The apartment info is very helpful :)

I looked into the four-week Celta program at "ILA Vietnam" (google it) a year ago. I decided not to teach, but Celta certificates appear to be highly regarded by schools. Perhaps a teaching expat will add to this thread. Oh and attending the program in Viet Nam or Bali vs. San Francisco was US$1000 cheaper. The school has a placement program. Ask them for housing tips. I've stayed in good-enough hotels here in the $20-25 range and they might offer weekly rates until you settle somewhere; search with Agoda.

@gobot that's such super advice! Thank you so much - we've been twice so know we don't have to worry about hotel costs that much but didn't know there might be weekly costs! Really great advice, thanks again   :D

Hi,