JOBS IN OMAN

Hallo fellow members,

Firstly its a relief to get this blog. I feel I can pour my heart out. I feel am not alone.

Anyway dont be startled, am just like desperate.

I moved to Oman about five months ago with my kids who have attained their nationality since am married to a National.  Since then I have seriously been looking for a Job all in vain.  Professionaly I am an experienced secretary. I hold a bachelors degree in Political Science from india.

Am so frustrated sitting at home doing nothing the whole day (of course apart from the house chores). I have even tried supermarket tiller jobs, but was informed I have to get authourisation from Ministry of Man power. Went to Man power, they asked for a contract from prospective employer. Now how can I get a job contract before I get Job. My husband has no issues with me working and is ready to sign any document to  enable me get a job.  Please help me out

I think it is easier to get a job while outside than inside the Sultanate.

Hi yu72,

The job market  in the Sultanate for all expatriates, and expatiate women in particular is really frustrating.

The slew of new rules and regulations being introduced by the authorities in an effort to "regularise the local job market" is working counter productive to the national cause. But then who are we, as expatriates, to complain.

There is a lot of discussions and debates going on around in various mass media platforms regarding the pros and cons of 'Omanisation'. But for the expatriate there is hardly a glimmer of hope.

The way things are going, it would only go from bad to worse. More and more jobs currently being held by the expatriates would have to be relinquished to the locals - sooner than later.

Nothing is going to change dramatically overnight. But the process has well and truly been put in place to ease out as many expatriates as the country can possibly afford to.

As one married to a national, you should be much better off compared to the rest.