Ream Beach Guesthouse

Hi to all the people of "Expat.com"!

I've been asked to introduce myself.. Well, my name is Marco Pettini, my passport shows that I'm italian and surely I love good wine, "lasagne" and "tiramisu'" but apart from that... Maybe it's because I spent many years overseas, a couple in Saudi Arabia, six in Australia and other six in Papua New Guinea..
The last four years I lived in Cambodia, precisely in Ream (National Park) where  I bought a small guesthouse - Ream Beach Guesthouse - not the property (over half a million dollars!) but just the "business" . I have to say it was the first time in my life to get involved is such an activity ( my background is mostly working in the film industry  as first assistant director - check on Imdb) and therefore mine was a 360 degree experience. Probably some of you reading this "introduction" have been already my guests in a recent past, with many of them I had quite interesting conversations, mostly about the "deep" meaning of what is commonly called "culture differences"..
It 's hard here to "share" with all of you my four years experience in Ream, the approach with the "business" guesthouse,  with the expectations and needs of the guests (coming from every corner of the globe) and most of all with a totally different way of living of the local staff.. If I would be a writer I'm sure I could write a quite interesting book...!

By the end of last april, my lease contract expired. The landlord has decided to renovate the property and therefore to not renew my contract; I had no choice but to move out.

My story with Ream might have reached its natural conclusion, the circle is closed.. Yet I have a feeling I can' t say the same thing for Cambodia. Moreover I'm aware of the wide experience I inevitably got from the whole story and I'm quite confident it may somehow be useful to others.

Anyone looking for a guesthouse/hotel manager...?

Marco