Working in Malta

Hello everybody,

My name is Steve, and I am new to the forum. I am looking for a new challenge in life, and would dearly love to work and live in Malta. I have 17 years experience in the Educational and Training Sector, and have been to Malta 3 times before, but not for a while! Anyway I am a Career Advisor looking to work in either a college, or mainstream school setting. I am based in the United Kingdom, in London, and have thought about this for a while. I have also worked in IT, Counselling, Customer Services, and Mentoring. If anyone can signpost me across to any educational links in Malta, it would be appreciated. There are a batch of colleges in the main capital, but at first glance they would not appear to have anything. I would be really interested to know the processes involved about working in Malta, and information varies from website to website, and also the industry that is the most employable and marketable in Malta. I am UK Born and Bred, but have a mixture of Portuguese, Indian and Swiss cultures interlinked to me!

With thanks.

Steve.

Hi Steve,
I found it very difficult to find a good job in Malta who pays as it should.
So expect really low wages .
The betting games company are based in Malta and looking for people.
Try over there.

Success,

As an eu citizen you shouldnt have much trouble finding work as has already been pointed out wages are low.

as for the proceses
1, You wont need a work permit  - your entitled to live and work here without restriction
2. you will need to apply for residency but not for 3 months after arriving
3. find a job check out the times of malta , malta park and the etc.gov.mt  (you can register a temporary account here ) there are usually educational jobs on there etc .
4 find somewhere to live

you will find with option 3/4 your less likely to get a response if your applying from outside of malta so you will want to come here with a decent amount of money to tide you over for at least 3-6months