Volunteering

Hi I just moved to HCMC and will be here for at least 2 months. I would like to volunteer during this time, preferably working with children. I've had 3 years experience teaching English in Japan and I just want to give something back now.

If anyone knows any needy schools, orphanages or projects I'd love to hear about it.

Also where is the best place to network in HCMC? I want to make new friends whilst I'm here too but I don't know where people hang out. Let me know!

Welcome on Expat-blog menollychan! :) I hope you will make lot of new contacts on the site and you'll receive replies soon.

All the best,
Christine

Hi there!

My name is Ann and Ive been here for 2 years.I did some volunteering in Saigon.One was at the orphanage  called Phu My  along Xo Viet Nghi Tinh Street Binh Than District.They welcome foreigners to help them feed, play and educate kids with special needs.
Email me if you need more information.
I hope you will have a great time in Vietnam.

Hi there
feel free to contact me if you want to hang out!

Hi Kaneda,

I tried to message you but the system won't allow me... :(

Hello menollychan and welcome to Expat.com :)
Kindly review this topic: https://www.expat.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=45232 (by the way you can just as easily communicate on the forum with fellow members :D)

Hello,

Welcome to Ho chi minh city. I hope you will have a good time when you're here.

By the way, i knew a Pagoda that had orphanages for unlucky children and i took some Autralian friends visitted there before.

If you want to know pls contact with me by email: [email protected]. I will be happy to take you visit there.

cheers,
Tony

Good morninga all,

I stumbled across this forum by chance, as I will be visiting Vietnam from Feb 19 for approximately 4 weeks - this is my 3rd visit to VN and I am very much interested in doing some voluntering work same idea as menollychan's as above, even if it is for just a week.