Job offer in Bangalore - What is an acceptable salary?

Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum and I thought that it would be best to post an article as I don't seem to find recent posts on the topic.

I have just been offered a job in Bangalore within the food industry sector - research and development. I have 5 years of experience in Europe (mainly in the UK) as a food scientist.
I am considering strongly the offer but before I do so, I would really appreciate different points of view (Indians, expats) on the amount: I have been communicated a monthly wage of 1.05 lakhs pre-tax.

I would like to know how would this fit with the life in Bangalore? Would I have a confortable situation?

I am before hand looking for a human experience as well as a challenging professional experience. I am not expecting to live on the same standards as I am today - hence I have always agreed to be on a local contract.

I just want to make sure that I am not going to accept a very low offer considering my experience. This is where I would like your thoughts on.

If I do accept, I should be active very soon on this blog as I al sure I will need more help,

Thanks all,
Claire

You should settle for a salary of 1.05 lakh post-tax as tax slab for that salary is 30%. You can negotiate with your employer.
What other benefits do you got?
Je parle français et je suis un expatrié habitant à Bangalore.
N'hésites pas de me contacter si tu auras besoin d'aucune aide.

Take care.

Hi Nash,

Thanks for replying. I will send you a PM so you can give more info.

Claire

Hi Claire
With my experience of 14 years in IT field , i say 1.05 is good offer,
Definetly you can have comfortable life
are you bachelor ?

Thanks
Vel

Hi Claire