Moving to Belize within the next two years

Greetings,

I am Rick Nau. My wife Debby and I are planning on moving to Belize within the next two years. I am a military veteran with a pension and will be retiring from the State soon. Our finances should lend to allowing us to live good in Belize. We have been there and love the people and the fact that it is a fairly new independent country. We want to find a place south of Placencia on the beach. My goal is to have a small inexpensive resort with up to four small bungalow's. I want to provide a quiet, pristine environment that is affordable to people with very modest means. I look forward to learning more about Belize and what to expect when we relocate.

Hi Rick
Good Morning
When you say South of Placentia  are you talking about the coastal line ?or Inland. There are no real developments or roads south op Placentia until you reach Punta Gorda. Punta Negro (Coastal) South of Placentia may a future "Placentia" some day. But there is no road to get there. There are a lot of Resorts and developments inland south of Placentia.
North of Placentia , Sittee River area and Hopkin are being developed fast.  South Belize is also claimed as Maya Land  by Maya People . Needs to be careful before buying land.
Hope this helps