Indian origin, US experienced Engineer looking to work in Muscat, Oman

Hi there,

Hope you guys are doing well!
I am originally from India and have been residing in US for the last 8 years.
I am a Mechanical Engineer with 6 years of experience mostly in manufacturing industry and
I am currently looking to find a job in Muscat and would appreciate your help, as in what sites to find job postings at or any other effective ways to find a job and list of manufacturing companies in Muscat, Oman. Also what salary I should be mentioning/expecting in a job interview.
Also, do companies prefer candidates applying directly through the company website or through consultants?
Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks and Cheers!
AJ

Hi sunni3204,

First visit all major job sites such as naukri, monster, bayt, et al. They all have a local section. Don't miss LinkedIn of course.  Post your resume under Middle East / Oman sections.

Do a Google for manufacturing companies in Oman. Visit the selected companies and post your details under their jobs section.

Scan the daily English enewspapers like the Times of Oman, Muscat Daily, Oman Daily Observer and the Oman Tribune (yes, there are only 4 English dailies in Oman !). Look under their Situations Required / vacant columns and their appointment pages. You will get an idea of how robust the job market here is.

There are not many job consultants locally, but do look them up for whatever they are worth.

Regarding salary, it is usually the employer who would be calling the shots. See what the offer is, once it is made. Compare it with what you are getting currently and then decide.

For companies, appointing employees directly would be better since there is no other recruitment fee or third party costs attached to the recruitment.