Where to start???

Hi everybody.
I have a couple of questions for ex south africans.
1- where in canada? Meaning what part? Vancouver/ toronto/calgary?? Im from vryheid ( farming area) .
2- how to i start the process?
3- how are the schools and education?
4- how is the work situation? My husband  is a chef and has his own restuarant for the past 6 years.
I am a nail tech and currently studying for my teachers diploma (grade R)
5- do i go through a agent and if so who can you recommend.
Any info would be greatly appreciated
thanks
Xx

Hi, I am not from South Africa but I'll take a crack at your questions and you can choose to consider it or not.

1- where in canada? Meaning what part? Vancouver/ toronto/calgary?? Im from vryheid ( farming area) .

If you read through this thread, https://www.expat.com/forum/viewtopic.p … =5#2514492 , you'll get some idea about the different places. You want to consider a few things about the place you choose to settle down:
1) Long term vs short term - if you want to stay long term than you want to consider cost of home ownership. Otherwise, you can choose to rent ant that'd be ok. Vancouver for one, has the highest cost of home ownership. But its pretty new place to live in. Calgary is up and coming. However, its been hit hard recently with the drop in oil price. Toronto is a lil' balance. You can choose from the many suburbs in the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).  Cost of homeownership is more reasonable here. But do not discount other places which are also part of Canada, like Ottawa, Montreal, Winnipeg, Edmonton, etc.