Clueless in Saigon and need your help

Hi there expatters.

I'm in Saigon during April visiting family and have very little idea of what to do here. I'd love to hear your recommendations.

It would probably help if I introduce myself so that you can frame your recommendations accordingly.

I'm 36 years old and I live in Australia.

I work as a corporate lawyer and I love candle lit dinners and romantic walks on the beach ... oops! Wrong website profile!

I'm a non-smoker, non-drinker and occasional thinker. Therefore, I have no interest in bars or pubs as I really have very few spare brain cells to spare to alcohol poisoning.

Rather unusually for someone of Vietnamese origin, I'm fastidiously on time, so this rubber band time thing here is driving me nutters!

I have basic proficiency in Vietnamese, speak English plenty good, and am especially fluent in sarcasm and back handed witticisms.

I love the outdoors, site seeing and experiencing authentic cultural delights (and no, that's not a euphemism for spending my days with "love you long time" ladies who keep telling me that I'm "đẹp trai" but who are really overdue a visit to the optometrist).

I love to eat. While I'm fine at upmarket and (s)wanky fine dining establishments, I prefer those small little haunts that keep it real by providing tasty local dishes without all the pretense.

I love animals, especially puppies (as pets, not as dinner) and I have a soft spot for karaoke. It's pretty sad though, for a fully grown man to go singing on his own, even if he has a magnificent singing voice (and is tone deaf).

I'm located in District 1 and have no death wish (aka do not ride a scooter). This means I'll be getting around via taxi or good old fashioned walking while getting slow carbon monoxide poisoning. Keep that in mind in case you recommend that I see something that is neither within walking distance or will require me to give up a kidney to Vinasun.