Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai and other areas to settle in the North

Hi, I'm a newbie nomad to this forum. I've travelled to the North here over many years and am looking to settle in the North here for awhile. Chiang Mai has always had its attraction for me but have found the last 3 months based here in Chiang Mai a challenge. I feel it's time to explore other areas in the North as a future base. The struggling infrastructure & rampant real estate development here in Chiang Mai city will make life a challenge for anyone who chooses to live here.
Admittedly, I have been based  inner city,in a great condo but the traffic pollution and haze takes its toll. Possibly a house further afield may suit me but don't wish to be isolated within the suburbs.
I do plan to check out  Chiang Rai and other areas as possible bases.
Do peoples here have  thoughts/experiences of living in other cities/communities in the North here that they wish to share.

Hi Michael,

welcome here. I settle in Chiang Mai more in the south are Hang Dong, I dont drive to the city as there are evrything I need around. Honestly that depends on your living style what you are looking, some people will live in Doi Saket or Mae Rim, price will be cheaper there, maybe they dont have the constraint I have to be not too far from international school for my daughter. You can find nice place in Nam Phrae, there is others place in the south of Chiang Mai like Lamphun not too far and Lampang.

I did spend just few days in Chiang Rai and Mae Sai in the past for visa run, don't forget Chiang Rai was the most affected by the earthquake. It was not long enough to judge about living there.

Recently the level of pollution was very high in Chiang Mai and reached some records due to farmer burning their land in Thailand and others neighbour countries.