ELECTRICAL OUTLETS NOT GROUNDED! WHAT TO DO????

Hi all, this is my third post since I arrived to Riyadh quite recently.

I am renting a nice apt. The 4-story building is about 3 to 5 years old at most, but I am the very first one renting this apartment (I believe all the tenants are newly arrived, probably this year).
So yes, it's a brand new building. I just discovered that all electrical outlets in my apt (110 and 220 volts) are not grounded to earth. Yes, the 220 volt outlets have three prongs (live, neutral and earth), but there is no cable connected to the ground prong.

What can I do? This is a risky situation. All the appliances must be grounded (electrical stove, fridge, microwave oven, computer, ampliifiyer and electric guitar, electrical keyboard).

I need your advice on how to deal with the landlord to install ground wiring. Is it not required by law in S.A.? I will appreciate all your opinions/comments.

Max

Al-Max,

I work in the construction sector and I can tell you that there are many buildings that are not "grounded" in the middle east. Short of rewiring the building there is not much you can do.

I am curiuos to know how you found this out and are you certain that the third socket has no cable connected to it or are you implying the building has no prong connected into the gorund. Another thing to check for is if there is an earth leakage circuit breaker.

Its nothing new in the mid-east. Even other civil engineering standards, viz plumbing, tiling, sanitary fittings in the toilets, etc do not conform to any standard. How often do you see toilets in apartment blocks where the door opens inside to hit the wash basin or even the toilet seat? Water pumps are located in all odd corners of the building entrances and exits. Electrical wiring hang from building to building without any safety. Unless the authorities mandate a basic standard which will be monitired strictly we may never see any progress in this direction.