Possible relocation to Thailand

Hello to everybody !
My name is George and I come from Cyprus, a small island in the meditterenean sea  :D

I have long been thinking about relocation to Thailand. Having visited the country on numerous ocassions with my wife, we have finally decided to turn our thoughts into action!

We will be grateful for any advise, particularly on the professional-working aspect. I am a UK qualified accountant and I have extensive Management experience in European Companies.

This is all for now and I wish everybody a healthy and fruitful day!!

Hello George,

Welcome to Expat.com :)

Please note that a new thread was created with your post on the Thailand forum for a better interaction with the other members.

While waiting for some answers, you can have a look at the Expat Guide in Thailand for some more information.

Shaazia
Expat.com Team

I will try to save you the Grief that we have from not researching our move better. 1.  If you are going to need a car, consider bringing yours from the UK, they are expensive here and many have a lot of miles on them.  And if you decide to buy a new car you will have to pay a great deal of taxes. We bought a new Subaru XV normally  it would had cost 25,000 but with the tax we had to pay another 15,000 it cost 40,000 instead.  Another lesson was health care is very expensive here and most insurance companies will take advantage of the Expats, think we have the money to pay the price they come up with, so I would suggest if you are healthy that you just buy hospital care policy and take care of the minor problems out of pocket.  Blood tests, check ups, exams, ex-rays are all very cheap.  Thai Life Insurance offers a medical policy that will cover you till you are 90 years old.  You should look them up on-line and request to speak to someone that can speak English, you won't regreat this.  Good Luck with your move.  Patrick