Non EU residency

About to buy an apartment, prime residence in Malta.  Not sure if I can stay and live here continuously as get conflicting replies.  Is there another Australian aged pensioner who has already investigated this topic?

Are you a registered (formally recognised) resident?

No, simply applied for AIP permit.  What sort of registration are we talking about?  I would be a self sufficient retiree, Form K I think but about to do this.  Long queues, impossible to see anyone although I have made enquiries from two notaries....different answers.

Yes Form K in your case is the correct form to apply for residency.
You could prepare that and submit it yourself.
The required supporting documentation is listed on the form.

As a resident I would then think that you would have no problem residing in your property.
I can't imagine why there should be any issues.

However, Ricky is your man here to give you the definitive answers you need.
Maybe PM him?

Many thanks for such a quick reply.  No one answers emails I notice in these offices,  no doubt overloaded, so how do I proceed after lodging?  Is it a matter or turning up again on a certain date?  How do I PM someone called Rick?  Can you put me in contact with someone who is non EU and already done this? 
Only been here 60 days so far...purchase maybe previous but, hey, it's "the quick and the dead" as they say.  (not cremation of course). Been here before.
We have ( Australian) RHA status for 6 months but would I need to show private insurance arrangment when applying?

Businesses here are notorious for not responding to emails, it's their way and sometimes it's bluddy annoying!
You need to go to the offices to submit your residence application.
When you have all the necessary documents relevant to your type of application originals and copies and photographs required (details on the appropriate application form) you have to attend the ID Card Office at Evans Building, St Elmos Place, Valletta.