Looking for a job in Norway

Hey everyone!

I'm a 24 year old guy who is learning Norwegian and I have 3+ years of work experience in the IT/Computer area. I've really liked Norway since I was a teenager and have recently seriously started thinking about moving there. I think getting a job in the IT sector is my way in but I really have no idea how to even start with this.

I've been looking for other people who have done the same to get some advice or to see if they could share some of their experiences with me. Looking forward to meeting you!

@ RodEsp

If you google 'job search in Norway' a lot of helpful info comes up. The most comprehensive websites for jobs are: finn.no, nav.no  (most agencies like adecco, manpower etc. post also via finn.no).
Key question is: do you want to prioritise location or job? Depending on that, you have to build your strategy.  There is always a demand for qualified staff, but it varies from place to place, bigger cities generally offering more opportunities. If you do not have a EU passport, you need to apply at UDI for a visa.  Their website explains the process and requirements. In simple terms you need first a job, than apply for visa, wait for answer and then start your adventure.  There are also other options but this is the most straight forward one. Your relevant embassy in Norway might also be able to help.
Good Luck!

@no_clue

Thanks for the info! So, you're saying that I need a job in Norway BEFORE I can apply for the visa? Does that mean that the company must be willing to hire me before I can actually go work in their offices?
UDI says that I can't hand in a visa application from within Norway, only from abroad.

As far as location or job, I mostly just want to be in Norway in general. But I'm assuming that I'll most likely be somewhere in Oslo, Bergen, or Trondheim since that's probably where the most IT related jobs are. If so, I'd like to be close to the city center.

Thanks again!

@RodEsp