Please help - possibly have to move to Kuwait

Hi Everyone,

We are expecting my husband to get a good job offer in Kuwait and depending on a couple  of other factors, we might be making the move.  Once this desicion has been made, we will have 3 weeks to get our act together and be on our way, so needless to say, our time is short and we have a lot of uncertainties.  I was hoping you will be able to provide some answers on the following questions:

1) The hubby has a UK passport and the company will sort out his visa, but what about me?  Will I be able to apply for a work permit once I get there or should I find a job before we go over?

2) I have a Bachelors degree in Accounting Science  (BCompt) - and have finished one year of my audit articles - on-route to becoming a CA.  What are my job options over there?  Is there good opportunities for woman?

3) Will I be able to complete my honours degree at an accredited university?

4) What is life like over there for expand woman - I understand woman are considered "less"?

5) If wanting to maintain a lifestyle equal to a R50,000 net monthly income RSA, what kind of salary should you expect to earn in Kuwait, taking living cost into consideration ie. what would the average monthly expenses be for a married couple (incl rent and car hire, etc), living comfortably?

6)  We have two cats.  Is the country pet friendly or will it be better to make sure they are cared for in SA?

7)  I know that it would be a great adjustment, but how is life over there as a whole?

I would really appreciate any advise or insights you could offer and I apologise if some of my questions are ignorant.  I do not mean to offend.  My husband and I am both well travelled, however neither one of us have ever had the pleasure of travelling to one of the gulf countries and we realise the culture differs vastley from anything we are used to.

Looking forward to you responses and thanx in advance.

Landi