Test Manager - Opportunities in Canada

Hi there,

I have 7 years of experience in software testing. Currently, working as a test manager in India's leading MNC software company. I have wide exposure in blackbox testing. I have experience in (real device) Mobile testing. I possess scrum master certification (Agile Process).

I have plans to move to canada due to my personal reasons. I heard that, its very tough to get a job in canada.

Kindly help me in understanding the software industry growth and opportunity in canada. Also, kindly let me know, even if a get a job, How much would be my salary (This is to plan financially as i am planning to bring my wife along with me).

Thanks
Manoj

Software industry can be highly competitive here. However not as competitive as our neighbour - the states.
Then again software industry is also extremely varied. There's different areas and some are currently more hot than the other. As you probably would probably know mobile is still very HOT. Then there is Big Data, Cloud computing and Security. There's also another side which is informatics that's also accelerating is in the area of medical computing, bioinformatics, and robotics. However these require very skilled individuals and probably with at least a masters degree (degrees in the area is preferable e.g. a Degree in Medicine, or Genetics etc.)

From my observation there are 2 streams of IT industry here. Mainstream which is your conventional Java, JEE, Mainframes, C#, Enterprise backend kind of thing. And then there's the "new age" IT stuff which are mobile, python, PIG, Hadoop, Big Data. The later is slowly getting assimilated by the former. Take for example IBM opened a Global Services centre here in Halifax, NS which is doing mobile development, testing and also Big Data stuff. But there are a lot of small start ups that in this (new age) area. I work with one them. Tip: Do not discount start ups, sometimes they pay better than big guns. It is not what you think!!