Internet Needed for Two Weeks

Does anyone know what device and company we need to select so that we can have internet while in Santiago for two weeks? Please be specific, I am not tech savvy! We are having a very hard time finding some place to stay that has dependable internet. It is not a luxury for us, but a necessary item.

I know of no company that will give you a two week contract.  If you can't find it in the place you rent  you may have to avail yourselves of the many internet "cafes" and most restaurant also provide free wi fi.

Bob K

I was thinking there is a device you buy from cell providers. In the US we have a mobile hot spot for when we travel and then we pay for the data. Anything like that available in DR?

Also, I have seen wi-fi boosters at Costco (remember that American luxury?) and was wondering if that might help in the case of the weak or intermittent signals I hear people frequently complaining about....anyone tried those?

And as a side note to Bob and Planner, let me say thanks for your many insightful replies. We have really listened to your many suggestions. For instance, my husband did finally receive his American citizenship (after being here for 43 years) you had recommended. We have been preparing for this move since May, and about to take our third trip in January before the big move in April!

The phone companies do sell a wi/fi stick but you have sign a contract.  Usually 18 months.

Glad we could be of help.  Keep asking away, even when you get your feet wet.  I think you told us but "oldhimers" keeps me from remembering where you were going to settle down in?

Bob K

You can buy a MIFI from VIVA it is prepaid and you just  use what you want for as long as you want.  BUT you have to buy the mifi

We are settling in Santiago...goal is late April. Can't wait to escape my treadmill life here in the US!