Wannabe Expat

Hi there!

Just wanted to say hello to you all and let you know a little about me......

I am a British geologist who married a wonderful kenyan lady and we now have a 2 1/2 year old.  My wife would love to come home and i would love to come more than her :)

My issue is that i am not getting any replies to emails sent looking for a job.  There are a fair few civil engineering companies that i have approached (for actual job applications and i am a little ashamed to say - by unsolicited mail) as well as applying to the UN.  However, to date i have yet to receive a single reply.

My current remuneration is circa £30,000 - but i fully understand that i could not expect to get this level of pay.......but if you would not mind me jumping in with a question?  How much would i need to earn to have a similar lifestyle in Nairobi?  Would it need to be of the order of 100,000 ksh or more to live reasonably in say the westlands area?

Also have any of you kind folks got an idea of how to increase my chances of getting a job?  For the first time in my career i have not received a reply and it is quite strange to me!

Well anyway it is nice to meet you folks and i hope that in the not too distant future i can get a job and meet you in the flesh!

you should try hiring a HR firm to help you get a job.
if you need any assistance let me know.
for living expenses your looking at 100k plus if your in westlands as rents their are very high

Hi, Your situation sounds very much like my own.  My wife is Kenyan and we relocated to Kenya in 2004 for various reasons.  To date though, I have been unable to secure employment in Kenya. One of the reasons seems to be that work permits are no longer given freely to expats who are likely to compete with similarly qualified Kenyans.