Live and work in VANCOUVER

Hello everybody!

My name is Melinda and I am currently studying Tourism Management in Switzerland. In one year I'll graduate from school and want to move to Vancouver. It always had been my dream since I was there for 2 month in 2005.

So could anybody help me with a few questions?

First of all, I would like to know how difficult it is to get a working visa. I don't want to apply for immigration as this may take years.  As far as I'm concerned I will need a confirmation from canada Human Resource that the employer couldn't find a canadian person for that job. Is this difficult to get this confirmation?

Second, it would be interesting to know if I have good chances to get a job. So to find an employer whose willing to employ me. The thing is that I have only 1 year experience in administrative offices and 1 year experience as flight attendant and of course in one year I will hold a bachelors degree in science.

I would appriciate to get some helpfull information.
Thank you
Melinda

Hi Melinda! Welcome on Expat-blog! :)

Well, you might place an ad in the Vancouver classifieds > job section for finding a job.

I wish you good luck
Christine

Hi Melinda,

My advice would be to make contacts within the tourism industry in Vancouver (LinkedIn and Twitter are great tools for this). They will be able to tell you what the job market is really like in your field.

Compared to Europeans, I find that Canadian employers tend to place more value on your personality and whether you'll be a good fit with the rest of the team, and less on your work experience and degrees.

So I wouldn't worry about having "only" 1 year experience in these two fields - show you're the right person for the job, and that shouldn't be a problem.

All the best!
Emmanuelle

Wow, this all sounds very positive! thanks a lot for your helpfull information...