My apartment building project in Saigon, Vietnam

Hello everyone,

I'm in the process of building a small apartment on a piece of land that my wife and I purchased early this year, and I'm also writing to document about my real estate journey and experiences in Saigon, and random rambling thoughts too. I'm no expert, and do expect some information and opinions to either be outdated or just downright wrong, but I do appreciate constructive feedback.

The blog I've set up is at saigonsettler.com, I'm mostly writing it for my own benefit of getting all the pent-up info out of my head but it'd be great if I could get feedback on what I'm writing.

Looking forward to constructive discussions here and on the blog (if possible).

Cheers!

Hey Ben, if you don't mind me asking; how much do you have to in free cash to start this project?

Don't want to be picky - you didn't buy any land, you leased it.

You didn't describe what you mean as 'building' - are you just hiring someone to do it or are you acting as your own main contractor.

Don't trust 'plumbers' or 'electricians'. Few exist in this country. And does your area ever flood? Yes? Well fir anti-backflow valves on the sewer line and make sure the sewer drop on the house and to the road sewer is around 7" in diameter.

And install a 'Chinese' roof, it will save you millions (of Dong) every year.

And the old maxim, Location, Location, Location doesn't apply in VietNam.

LaxFogo wrote:

Hey Ben, if you don't mind me asking; how much do you have to in free cash to start this project?

Hi there, that's an unusual question. Would you mind sharing why you're curious about this little tidbit of information?

Jaitch wrote:

Don't want to be picky - you didn't buy any land, you leased it.

You didn't describe what you mean as 'building' - are you just hiring someone to do it or are you acting as your own main contractor.