Renting and moving to Fortaleza!

I sent emails to several members in Fortaleza and didn't get any responses.I tried contacting Aneil and no response.So, I will post here.I have been traveling to Brazil since 2002 and to Fortaleza the past few years. I have decided to retire Nov of 2015 and move around or near Fortaleza. I have rented in Fortaleza and got a good deal on places for a month or less.I am wanting to find a house near the beach to rent until I find a place to buy.I am wanting at least a year least but I don't want a tourist or Gringo price ! I would like to year from people that are from or live in Fortaleza . You don't have to be realtor or sales person.I know everybody has a friend or has their own business.I am just wanting a few suggestions . I have been trying to contact a Brazilian friend of mine that could of shown me around to the right people in Fortaleza but we have lost contact in the last year.I am still learning Portuguese and when I looked at places in the past.The minute they find out I am an American the prices changed and start rising for everything we looked at . I have many more questions but first I want to find a safe place to rent.It have to be a house with a fenced in yard and no more than 30 mins from Fortaleza .Any suggestions of the best towns etc..Obrigado

Hi rc,