Future Expat wonders about a real need for a Maltese Bank Account?

Hi all.......I'm a future expat who presently resides in the USA but who lived in Rome from 2001 to 2007 and never opened an Italian bank account - was even advised against it by several people including friends in the know.

In Rome I did everything through the ATM and a 'debit' card - four hundred euro at a time - twice on  successive days. There was a fee of abt. 4 euro per transaction then there was the exchange rate. I lost abt. 25% in value from the dollar but I managed to live on that the whole time. I was a theology student living a rather frugal life style. Some call it 'monastic.' :)

My questions are - Having no business dealings or employment issues to be concerned about - do I even need a Maltese bank account after I move? Or I suppose I could do it later on if necessary.

And Is there a tax that I need be concerned about as regards bank withdrawals and/or monetary transactions?

I'm a dual Italian/American citizen with an Italian passport which is what I'll present to the authorities.

Certainly no need for it. No taxes either on ATM withdrawals.
Perhaps your US bank will charge something?

Thank you for the timely, informative response.

No, my bank (credit union actually) won't charge me a fee on their end.

Another point I forgot to ask you - is there still a withdrawal limit of 400.00 Euro per transaction at the ATM?

Wouldn't it be nice to be able to make one big one that would last the entire month? That's how the banks are able to make some considerable amount of money  - transaction fees, hence the reason for the withdrawal limitation.

Hi Filippo,

if you are living on a monastic budget 400 € is more than enough to live on fruit and vegatables and to live in a monastery.